Writers Festival 2002

(Click on image to view a full-size version of the poster)

Festival Schedule of Events

March 28

8–9:30 PM.

Lydia Davis and David St. John will read new and published works. Harn Museum of Art, SW 34th Street & Hull Road, University of Florida.

10–11 PM.

Reception. Keene Faculty Center, Dauer Hall.

March 29

10 AM – 12 PM.

Informal talks by Lydia Davis and David St. John. Room 123, Reitz Student Union, University of Florida.

1–3 PM.

Informal talks by Barry Hannah and C.K. Williams. Room 123, Reitz Student Union, University of Florida.

8–9:30 PM.

Barry Hannah and C.K. Williams will read new and published works. Harn Museum of Art, SW 34th Street & Hull Road, University of Florida.

10 PM–.

Reception and Oyster roast. Kate’s Fish Camp, 5 miles east of town, Hwy 20 (Hawthorne Road).

All events are free and open to the public.

About the Festival Writers

Lydia Davis was born in Northampton, Massachusetts in 1947. While living abroad after college, she began her translating career by working for the movie industry and for art galleries, but finally turned to literary translating, her first book-length work being Maurice Blanchot’s Death Sentence. A small-press volume of her stories written in France was published in 1976 as The Thirteenth Woman and Other Stories. Over the years, she has translated five more books by Blanchot as well as numerous other works from the French, including three novels by Pierre Jean Jouve, travel pieces by Michel Butor, and an autobiographical essay in four volumes by the early Surrealist and ethnographer Michel Leiris, for whose Scratches she received the 1992 French-American Foundation Translation Award. (She is currently translating, for Penguin Classics, the opening volume of Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time.) Davis’ first major collection of stories, Break It Down, appeared in 1986 and was a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Foundation Award for Fiction. This book was followed in 1995 by a novel, The End of the Story, and then in 1997 by another collection of stories, Almost No Memory. Her stories have appeared in numerous literary magazines and anthologies, including Harper’s, Hambone, Antaeus, McSweeney’s, The Paris Review, Bomb, Grand Street, Sulfur, Doubletake, and Conjunctions, and have been translated into French, German, Polish, and Spanish. Among other awards, she has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Lannan Literary Award. She teaches at Bard College, is married to the painter Alan Cote, and has two sons.

Barry Hannah was born in Clinton, Mississippi, in 1942, and earned a BA from Mississippi College in 1964. In 1966, he earned a Master of Arts degree from the University of Arkansas. A year later he graduated with a Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Arkansas, and began teaching creative writing at Clemson University in South Carolina, where he remained until 1973. In 1972, Hannah published his first novel, Geronimo Rex, for which he won the William Faulkner Prize for writing and earned a nomination for the National Book Award. A year later, he wrote Nightwatchmen. In 1978, he wrote Airships, which won the Arnold Gingrich Short Fiction Award. In 1979, he received the Award for Literature from the American Institute of Arts and Letters. Since returning to Ole Miss in 1983, he has continued to publish novels and short story collections, including Captain Maximus (1985), Hey Jack! (1987), Boomerang (1989), Never Die (1991), and Bats Out of Hell (1993). Recently, Hannah has published the short story collection High Lonesome (1996) which has been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. His most recent novel is Yonder Stands Your Orphan (2001). Hannah has taught writing at several colleges and universities, including Middlebury College and the University of Alabama the University of Iowa, the University of Mississippi, and the University of Montana, Missoula.

David St. John was born in Fresno, California, in 1949, and educated at California State University, Fresno, where he received his BA In 1974, he received an MFA from the University of Iowa. He is the author of five books of poetry, including Study for the World’s Body: New and Selected Poems (1994), No Heaven (1985), and Hush (1976). His awards include the Discover/The Nation prize, the James D. Phelan Prize, and the Prix de Rome fellowship in literature. He has also received several National Endowment for the Arts Fellowships and a Guggenheim Fellowship. St. John currently teaches in the English Department at University of Southern California, Los Angeles.

C. K. Williams was born in 1936 in Newark, New Jersey. He is the author of numerous books of poetry, including Repair (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1999), which won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize; The Vigil (1997), which was nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award and was a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; A Dream of Mind (1992); Flesh and Blood (1987), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; Tar (1983); With Ignorance (1997); I Am the Bitter Name (1992); and Lies (1969). Williams has also published five works of translation: Selected Poems of Francis Ponge (1994); Canvas, by Adam Zagajewski (with Renata Gorczynski and Benjamin Ivry, 1991); The Bacchae of Euripides (1990); The Lark. The Thrush. The Starling. (Poems from Issa) (1983); and Women of Trachis, by Sophocles (with Gregory Dickerson, 1978). Among his many awards and honors are an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Lila Wallace-Reader’s Digest Award, the PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, in 1985 and 1993, and a Pushcart Prize. Williams teaches in the creative writing program at Princeton University and lives part of each year in Paris.