Faculty & Staff

The Department office is located in Turlington Hall 4008 (voice: +1 352-392-6650; fax: +1 352-392-0860). Most faculty offices are located on the fourth floor of Turlington Hall.

_emptyAdministration _emptyFaculty _emptyStaff

Search Faculty Biographies & Publications


Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Uwem Akpan
Assistant Professor
Creative Writing, Fiction
uwem.akpan@ufl.edu

Apollo Amoko
Associate Professor
Postcolonial Theory & Literatures (esp. African Literature), Critical Theory, Modern Drama
aamoko@ufl.edu

B

Camille Bordas
Assistant Professor
Fiction Writing, Nonfiction Writing, Translation
bordas.camille@ufl.edu

Marsha Bryant
Professor and Distinguished Teaching Scholar
Director of Graduate Student Teaching
Modernist Studies, Poetry & Visual Culture, Women’s Writing
mbryant@ufl.edu

Richard Burt
Professor
Shakespeare & Renaissance Drama; Film, Mass Media & Digital Media; Literary & Media Theory
burt@ufl.edu

C

John Cech
Professor
Associate Chair & Undergraduate Coordinator
Director, Center for Children’ Literature and Culture
Children’s and YA Literatures, American Literature and Poetics, Myth and Folklore
jcech@ufl.edu

Jill Ciment
Professor
Creative Writing
jciment@ufl.edu

D

Sid Dobrin
Department Chair
Professor
University of Florida Research Foundation Professor
Composition Studies/Theory, Ecocomposition, Visual Rhetoric, Digital Rhetoric, Posthumanism
sdobrin@ufl.edu

E

Kim Emery
Associate Professor
U.S. Literatures & Culture, Queer Studies, Semiotics
kimemery@ufl.edu

G

Margaret Galvan
Assistant Professor
Comics Studies & Visual Rhetoric, Archives & the Digital Humanities, Feminist & Queer Theory
margaretgalvan@ufl.edu

Pamela Gilbert
Albert Brick Professor
Victorian, Gender, Body
pgilbert@ufl.edu

H

Terry Harpold
Associate Professor
Science Fiction & Film, Climate Fiction & Film, Digital Humanities, Image-Text Studies, Psychoanalysis
tharpold@ufl.edu

Tace Hedrick
Professor
Latinx/Chicanx Studies, Feminist Studies, Latin/o American Transnational Studies
tace@ufl.edu

Susan Hegeman
Professor
American Studies, Cultural Studies, Critical Theory
shegeman@ufl.edu

Michael Hofmann
Professor
Poetry, Translation, Reviewing
mhofmann@ufl.edu

Sidney Homan
Professor
Shakespeare, Modern Drama, Acting & Directing
shakes@ufl.edu

K

Kenneth Kidd
Professor
Children’s Literature & Culture, Queer Studies, American Literature
kbkidd@ufl.edu

Debra Walker King
Professor
African-American Literature, Womanist & Feminist Thought, Cultural Theory
dwking@ufl.edu

L

David Leavitt
Professor
Co-director, MFA@FLA
Editor, Subtropics
Fiction Writing, 20th-Century American and British Literature, The Literature of Mathematics
dleavitt@ufl.edu

William Logan
Professor
Poetry wlogan@ufl.edu

M

Roger Maioli
Assistant Professor
18th-Century British Literature, Enlightenment Studies, History and Theory of the Novel
rmaiolidossantos@ufl.edu

Barbara Mennel
Rothman Chair and Director, Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere
Associate Professor
Film Studies and Feminist Theory
mennel@ufl.edu

Ange Mlinko
Associate Professor
Creative Writing (Poetry)
amlinko@ufl.edu

Trevor Mowchun
Assistant Professor
Experimental film, Hybrid aesthetics, Film-Philosophy
tmowchun@ufl.edu

P

Judith W. Page
Professor and Distinguished Teaching Scholar
Romanticism, British Women Writers of the 18th & 19th Centuries, Wordsworth, Judaism
page7@ufl.edu

Padgett Powell
Professor
Creative Writing
powell@ufl.edu

R

Robert Ray
Professor and Distinguished Teaching Scholar
Film, Critical Theory, World Literature, Poetry Writing, Popular Music
robertbeverleyray@gmail.com

Mark A. Reid
Professor
African Diaspora Cultural Studies, Black Feminism/Womanism, Critical Race Theory
reid@ufl.edu

Leah Rosenberg
Associate Professor
Caribbean Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Digital Humanities
rosenber@ufl.edu

Peter L. Rudnytsky
Professor
Freud, Psychoanalytic Studies, Shakespeare, Renaissance Literature
plr@ufl.edu

S

Raúl Sánchez
Associate Professor
Composition Studies, Cultural Rhetorics
rsanchez@ufl.edu

Jodi Schorb
Associate Professor
American Literature (contact period-1865); U.S. Prison Literature and Prison Studies; Gender, Sexuality, and LGBT Studies (pre 20th-century)
jschorb@ufl.edu

Malini Schueller
Professor
American Literature (19th-Century and Asian American), U.S. Empire Studies, Postcolonial and Race Studies
malini@ufl.edu

Stephanie Smith
Professor
19th- and 20th-Century American Studies, Critical Theory, Popular Culture
ssmith@ufl.edu

Delia Steverson
Assistant Professor
African American Literature, Disability Studies, Southern Literature
dsteverson@ufl.edu

T

Maureen Turim
Director of Film & Media Studies
Professor
Film History & Theory, Psychoanalytic Theory, Feminist & Gender Theory, Deconstruction, Comparative Art Theory
mturim@ufl.edu

U

Anastasia Ulanowicz
Associate Professor
Children’s Literature, Graphic Narratives, Trauma Theory
aulanow@ufl.edu

W

Phillip Wegner
Professor
Marston-Milbauer Eminent Scholar
Director, Working Group for the Study of Critical Theory
20th-Century and Contemporary Literature and Film, Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, Utopian Studies and Science Fiction
pwegner@ufl.edu

Y

Rae X Yan
Assistant Professor
British Literature, 1830-1900
raeyan@ufl.edu

Staff

Carla Blount
Program Assistant to the Director of Writing Programs
& the Director of Creative Writing
cblount@ufl.edu

Melissa Davis
Administrative Assistant
madavis@ufl.edu

Peggy Lowenstein
Graduate Program Assistant
dellingp@ufl.edu

Dr. John Murchek
Coordinator, Student Affairs
murchek@ufl.edu

Department of English Computing Support
help@english.ufl.edu>

toptop

Primary Navigation

Search

 

Department of English

4008 Turlington Hall
P.O. Box 117310
Gainesville, FL 32611-7310
P: (352) 392-6650
F: (352) 392-0860

 

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

2014 Turlington Hall
P.O. Box 117300
Gainesville, FL 32611-7310
P: (352) 392-0780
F: (352) 392-3584